The Wauwatosa West soccer team won the Woodland Conference (9-0-1) and had an overall 11-4 record.

That was the most positive of many positives for coach Ryan Bailey.

'This season was a success,' he said. 'We were able to finally able to make the underestimated leap it takes to go from second to first and become a conference champion.

'Although we lost in a heartbreaking way at Brookfield East (3-2 with 13 seconds left in double overtime), I could not ask or expect anymore from this group.'

The Trojans had nine all-conference choices, including senior forward Gaby Zabala, the conference Player of the Year.

Joining Zabala on the first team were midfielder Hannah Fuerstenau, defender Caitlin Campbell and forward Emily O'Connell.

Second team choices were goalkeeper Marley Eckblad, defender Megan Stoffel and midfielder Kate Murphy.

Honorable mention honors went to midfielders Chloe Pepke and Erin Schaut.

Megan Stoffel was a Scholar Athlete.

Team awards

Team awards went to Zabala, who won the Most Valuable Player award and the Golden Boot Award, and Lindsey Starrett, who won the Most Improved Player award.

'I would like to thank the seniors for their four years of memories, leadership and a legacy they have established,' Bailey said. 'I would like to thank the parents for always willing to help, volunteer and support our program.

'Lastly, I would like to thank our staff. The coaches did a great job helping the girls stay at a high level and never stumbling in their pursuit of being a champion. Taylor (Molitor), Lito (Zabala), Paul (Piering) and Collin (Sieglaff) are as good as they come as a staff, and I am very thankful to have them with me.'