Menomonee Falls defeated Wauwatosa, 40-23, in the team wrestling sectional at Cedarburg on Feb. 16.

'The dual meet was a lot closer than the final score,' coach Kent Morin said. 'We forfeited the last weight where Norberto Pliego would have won because the meet was decided, and Pliego had a sore shoulder that we wanted to protect for Saturday. So we needed to win one more match for the win.

'But the bottom line is Falls outwrestled us that night. They deserved the win and trip to the state team tournament.'

Five Tosa wrestlers came out winners, topped off by Sam Kratochvil at 220, who pinned Donald Eruchalu in 4 minutes, 41 seconds, and Zach Miller at 152, who pinned Cole Boram in 5:55.

Justin Folley at 138 won a major decision, 14-1, over Jerott Holz, and Jordan Boettcher at 160 had a major decision, 17-7, over Ben Knudsen.

Cole Acker earned a 7-5 sudden-victory decision at 126 over Eric Wunsch for the final win.

'The huge match of the night was Cole Acker beating Wunsch, who is a two-time state qualifier,' Morin said. 'Acker took him down in overtime for the win that gave us the chance for an upset team win. Unfortunately, we couldn't come up with the other big win.'

Losing by pins were Seth Abad at 182 by Nate Fuiten (5:21) and Andrew Radtke at 106 by Tyler Gill (5:02), and losing a major decision was Lawrence Thomas at 195, 13-5, to Brandon Schafer.

Losing by decisions were Lorry Venturi at 285, 5-3, to Logan Fallon; Lathan Hay at 120, 9-3, to Austin Lasanske; Colin Bertz at 132, 9-6, to Nate Bonesho; and Brian Mahan at 145, 9-4, to Jarod Gill.

Menomonee Falls' Matt Anderson at 113 and Curtis Flannick at 170 won on forfeits.