Wauwatosa East's baseball team was set up to make a postseason run thanks to the strength of its pitching staff, led by Jeff Mason and Aaron Plaisted.

The two pitchers helped the Red Raiders pull off a pair of upsets to win Tosa East's first regional baseball title since 2006 and were also the team's only two All-Greater Metro Conference selections.

Mason went 2-2 with a 1.30 ERA and 34 strikeouts in 43 innings. The junior right-hander posted a 0.64 ERA in Greater Metro play. He also led the team with 15 RBIs and seven doubles. 

After Plaisted threw six scoreless innings in a 4-0 upset of Pewaukee in the regional opener, Mason gave up just one earned run in a complete-game victory in a 10-1 upset of Kettle Moraine in the regional final. 

All Conference

Greater Metro baseball 2017


Pitcher -- Caleb Willert, Franklin; Michael Hinz, Brookfield Central; Ben Ellifson, Oak Creek

Catcher -- Ben Stanke, Oak Creek

Infield -- Alex Binelas, Oak Creek; Carson Manning, Franklin; Peter Ahn, Marquette; Pat Sisk, Marquette; Matt Kasar, Oak Creek

Outfield -- Luke Posig, Oak Creek; Zach Nogalski, Marquette; Kyle Lewis, Franklin; Nathan Aide, Franklin; Kurt Mlachnik, West Allis Central

Utility -- Ryan Hubbell, Sussex Hamilton


Pitcher -- Danny Butler, Brookfield East; Ryan Keesler, Franklin; Adam Baade, Brookfield Central, Austin Trowbridge, Marquette

Catcher -- MJ Houdek, Brookfield Central

Infield -- Bobby Smith, Oak Creek; Joey DiTorrice, West Allis Hale; Zach Schmidt, Marquette; Kaleb Kling, West Allis Hale; Danny Llanas, West Allis Central

Outfield -- Joe Serbiak, Brookfield East; Jake Sutherland, Menomonee Falls; Sam Valona, West Allis Hale; Jonathan Osman, Brookfield Central

Utility -- Aaron Simmons, Franklin


Pitcher -- Jeff Mason, Wauwatosa East; Alex Behr, Oak Creek; Logan Roble, Menomonee Falls; Andrew Zeidler, Marquette; Aaron Plaisted, Wauwatosa East

Catcher -- Cole Vento, Brookfield East; Jacob Monfre, Franklin; Ryan Hecht, Marquette

Infield -- Matt Devinger, Franklin; Tyler O'Brien, West Allis Hale; Jarrod Kaczanowski, Oak Creek; Cory Dreier, Menomonee Falls; Jake Fierst, West Allis Central; Cole Roepke, Sussex Hamilton

Outfield -- Sam Gauger, Brookfield East; Cam Mielke, Sussex Hamilton; Gunnar Doyle, Oak Creek; Will Enneking, Sussex Hamilton; Nathan Denofre, Brookfield Central; Eric Jones, Franklin 

Player of the Year: Alex Binelas, Oak Creek

Coach of the Year: Pat Hansen, Menomonee Falls

Assistant Coach of the Year: Kent Sutherland, Menomonee Falls