Wauwatosa East's girls cross-country recently announced its end-of-the-season awards, with senior Andrea Mabie earning MVP honors.

The Red Raiders earned their first invitational title in five years by winning the Len Nikolai Invite in late September and found themselves ranked in the state poll twice.

"The girls had a memorable season," Tosa East girls cross-country coach Glen Gardiner said. "The team built on the success from last year and will continue to do so next year."

Senior Braden Wallenkamp received the Coaches Award, sophomore Eden Gissibl was named most improved and freshman Molly McCaffery was the most valuable newcomer. Wallenkamp and Amara Green were given the Senior Award.

Senior Janet Fee, senior Kacy Fisher, Green, Mabie, senior Jordyn Summerfield and Wallenkamp were all Greater Metro Conference scholar-athletes.

Other letter winners included freshman Olivia Bowser, junior Yvette Danisewicz, freshman Melis Kaplan, junior Sydney Evans, sophomore Elsa Klein, junior Kyra Meach, freshman Madelyn Mills and sophomore Abby Wood.

"We lose four seniors from the varsity team, but the cupboard is not bare," Gardiner said. "There are a number of younger runners ready to make bigger contributions on the varsity team next season.

"The coaches are thankful for the hard work and dedication the seniors gave with their time on the team, and we wish them the best."