Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson has been chosen to deliver the keynote address at the 2017 Wauwatosa Public Library Leadership Luncheon.

Wilkerson, author of “The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration,” will present her thoughts to attendees of the luncheon May 1 at the Crowne Plaza-Milwaukee West, 10499 W. Innovation Drive, Wauwatosa.

Wilkerson won the Pulitzer Prize for her work as Chicago Bureau Chief of The New York Times in 1994, making her the first black woman in the history of American journalism to win a Pulitzer Prize and the first African-American to win for individual reporting.

"This annual event recognizes the important role the library plays in the community and brings the community together around a leading author," a release from the Wauwatosa Public Library said. "The event also honors area high school students and adult leaders who have had a positive impact on our community."

The adult leaders who will be honored with the 2017 Arthur B. Kohasky Leadership Award are Mary Newton and Jim Sanger. Both have been involved in Wauwatosa and beyond since the late 1970s, the release said.

Newton, an attorney, is the co-founder of Danceworks and was instrumental in the formation of Special Needs Tosa. She is the associate director of the Children’s Dyslexia Center and a longtime volunteer and consultant for numerous organizations that seek to improve reading achievement in Wisconsin.

Sanger, a surgeon, is chief of plastic surgery at the Zablocki Veterans Administration Medical Center and a professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin. He volunteers for annual Milwaukee Medical Mission trips to Central and South America and provides free care for bonobos at the Milwaukee County Zoo.

Receiving the Student Leadership Awards for 2017 are Kathleen Topp, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School; Jon Gaines, Marquette University High School; Danielle Scholz, Pius XI High School; Emma Hudson-Mairet, Wauwatosa East High School; and Logan Steinike, Wauwatosa West High School.

Past Leadership Award winners include Chris Foley, Don Layden, Ray Perry, Peggy Rosenzweig, Tim Winn, Ann and Craig Larson, Jon Vice, Mary Ellen Stanek, Denise Lindberg, Joe and Jennifer Bartolotta, Michael McCrea, Caroline Krider, Clare Fiorenza and John Kissinger.

For ticket information call 414-471-8487.

Read or Share this story: