An 82-year-old Wauwatosa woman who attended her first Packers game in 1957 is one of the finalists for inclusion in the Green Bay Packers Fan Hall of Fame.

In addition to Rosemary Scheible, there are nine other finalists in the annual search for the Hall's 19th member. Voting began Jan. 1 and will continue until Jan. 31. The winner will be announced in late February.

"Just to have (my daughter) think I am worthy of a nomination is an honor as a mother and as a Packers fan," Scheible said. "(The Packers) are in my home and in my heart and that's why being a finalist means so much to me."

Scheible went to her first Packers game 60 years ago and has been a season ticket holder for over 50 years. She was nominated by her daughter Kim Rusch through a letter sent to the Packers. Her family is strongly supporting her campaign and has even printed T-shirts and flyers in support of getting out the vote for Scheible.

"I was hooked from Day One," Scheible said.

Scheible was at the "Ice Bowl" with her husband Frank and — in addition to attending games at Lambeau Field — has seen the Packers play at Milwaukee County Stadium, State Fair Park and at road games in New Orleans, Chicago, Florida, Cincinnati and Washington, according to Rusch.

"These are just some of the reasons that I think my mom would make a great addition to the Packer Fan Hall of Fame," Rusch said in the nomination letter. "She shares her love of the Green Bay Packers with her children, grandchildren and now great-grandchildren."

Frank Scheible passed away 20 years ago and the family honored him at the renovated Lambeau Field in a way befitting of his love for the Packers.

"I bought a brick to remember him by. I purchased stock as well," Scheible said. "It's nice as a family to have it there."

Nominations arrive in the form of a 500-word-or-less essay and can be sent in by a friend, family member or an individual wishing to nominate themselves.

The first professional football team to have a hall of fame, the Packers enhanced that distinction in 1998 by establishing a Packers Fan Hall of Fame. It was founded for the purpose of annually honoring a devout and longtime Packers fan.

The other finalists are:
• John Powers – Savage, Minnesota
• Kay Kuester Doran – Antigo
• Karen Troyanek – La Crosse
• Carol Postulka – Pierre, South Dakota
• Frank Lamping – Union Grove
• LaNore Anderson – Thorp
• Mike Sledz – Grayslake, Illinois
• George Oudhuis – Rolling Prairie, Indiana
• Terry Schwefel – Watertown

Fans can read the finalists’ profiles and vote online at or vote with a paper ballot by visiting the guest relations desk in the Lambeau Field Atrium. Voters will be entered into a random drawing to win Packers merchandise.

The winner will be selected by fans and previous honoree votes (50 percent) and the Packers’ committee (50 percent). The chosen fan will have his or her name added to the list of Fan Hall of Fame honorees recognized in the Packers Hall of Fame.

In addition, the winner will receive four club seats to a 2017 Packers home game; a $500 Packers Pro Shop gift certificate; a road trip for two to a 2017 Packers away game, including game tickets, air fare and hotel accommodations; and a one-year subscription to Packer Plus.

Read or Share this story: